Clayton RFC Names 2017/2018 Award Winners

CLAYTON, NC – This past weekend, the Clayton Rugby Football Club hosted their annual End of Season Banquet to celebrate another great season. Hosted at Boulevard West in Downtown Clayton the festivities included the announcement of club playing award winners and special recognition awards.

1st XV Most Valuable Forward: Ed “Prop Kicker” Dixon

Dixon posted a banner season, starting 14 of 15 matches during the 2017/2018 season. Dixon scored a team high 93 points during the season as he took over kicking duties for the 1st XV. On top of anchoring the Bootlegger’s scrum, Dixon scored two tries, went 7 for 8 on penalty goals and 31 of 51 on conversions.

1st XV Most Valuable Back: Brian Anderson

Playing in his first full season with the Bootleggers, Anderson filled in multiple roles in the club’s back line. Anderson played in 12 matches scoring six tries while putting in time at center, scrumhalf, flyhalf, and fullback during the campaign.

2nd XV Most Valuable Player: Jim Bartles

A brand new addition to the club’s annual awards, the first-ever 2nd XV Most Valuable Player led the 2nd XV to their best season to date. While also putting in solid minutes for the Bootleggers’ 1st XV, Bartles made six starts for the 2nds bringing his leadership and strong carries to the pitch.

Rookie of the Year: Aaron Sisler

After getting his rugby career off to a good start in the Fall, the lock/flanker suffered an injury that put him out for most of the season. Sisler worked hard at practice and off of the pitch to return to the pitch just before the end of the season. He played a total of four matches this season making one appearance for the Bootleggers’ 1st XV.

Coach’s Award: George Allen

One of the club’s Old Boy stalwarts, the second rower can always be counted on to put in hard work at practice and strong minutes during games. During the past season, Allen appeared in five 1st XV matches and six 2nd XV games.

Davies Award: Mike Keese

Named after Philip “Paddy O” Davies, it is a non-annual award given to the Club Member that goes above and beyond in service to the Clayton Rugby Football Club.  After stepping away from playing on the pitch, Keese stepped up to the plate this year serving as the club’s Volunteer Chair. Keese aided in organizing volunteer management for the club’s many events and games. On top of that, he also assisted with the execution of home socials. 

Special Recognition Awards

Paul Auclair – 5 Year Sponsorship Award

Lynn Auclair – 5 Year Sponsorship Award

Dr. Karel Lloyd – 5 Year Sponsorship Award

Philip Davies – Club Service Award – Club Chef

Ted Hardy – Club Service Award – Club President

Simon Potter – Club Service Award – Club Captain

Rich Munro – Club Service Award – Club Head Coach

Ted Chapman – Club Service Award – Club Assistant Coach