Bootleggers Name Award Winners

CLAYTON, NC – This past Sunday, the Clayton Rugby Football Club celebrated the end of another great year with their Annual Christmas Party. As part of the party, the club handed out awards for 2015 that were voted upon by active players.

1486713_10208226569892908_5079816979993165698_nRookie of the Year – Luke Haskins – Haskins joined the club over the winter, taking part in workouts and showed early that he had what it takes to play rugby. Haskins showed heart, a disregard for his body, and a passion for learning. Initially looked at as a possible back rower, Luke ended up as a utility back playing nearly every position in the back line. He played in 10 matches for the 1st XV in 2015 (Tied for 3rd on the team) as well as three for the 2nds where he slotted in at flyhalf.


10437687_10208226569412896_72388872875159785_nMost Valuable Back – Brendan Fitzpatrick – After playing in a couple games for the Bootleggers in 2014, Fitzpatrick committed to playing for Clayton late in the Spring of 2015 and made an immediate impact on the squad. A prototypical scrumhalf, Brendan filled a role that the Bootleggers were missing and helped bring consistency to an important position. Fitzpatrick played in seven matches for the 1st XV in 2015, scoring one try and making 11 conversions for a total of 27 points.


1385526_10208226568772880_2851185453612458970_nMost Valuable Forward – Ted Hardy – One of two players on the roster to appear in every Bootlegger match in 2015, Hardy was the only to start every 1st XV match. Ted played the bulk of the year at No. 8, but also saw time at flanker and Captained the team in nine matches. Hardy tied for the team lead in tries scored with nine and played an active role in the new offensive scheme put in place by the coaching staff.


At the conclusion of the Awards ceremony, the club surprised one of our members with the announcement of a new award. Philip “Paddy O” Davies has been an active member since the club’s inception and prefers to do his work behind the scenes. A jack of all trades, Paddy O serves on the club’s Board of Directors, cooks at all of our socials, and fills in wherever needed. Never one to ask for gratitude or recognition, Paddy O has been instrumental in the success the club has had in our first two years. As a way to show our thanks, the Clayton RFC has created the Philip Davies Award for Service to the Clayton Rugby Football Club. The award will be awarded in the future to club members that go above and beyond in the service of the club.

Fittingly, the very first Davies Award was given to Paddy O.

The Clayton Bootleggers would like to thank all of the players, families, fans, and volunteers that make our club so special. Without each and every one of you, we could not continue to grow and spread rugby in the area. The club has some huge plans in the works and look forward to the day that we can share them with everyone.